Marriage Certificates


If you were married in South Lake Tahoe, it is important to identify if you were married in California or Nevada.  If you were married at the Chapel of the Bells, Emerald Bay or on the South Lake Tahoe Shoreline, you were married in California.  

If you were married at Love Chapel or a Casino, you were married in Nevada.  Under Nevada Law, marriage license indexes are available for public review online.  You may wish to check Washoe County Recorder's records or Douglas County Recorder's records before requesting a copy of your marriage license. 

If you placed an order for a certified copy and we do not have the record, you will be charged for the number of certified copies you have requested and received a "Letter of No Record" in their place.  If you requested UPS overnight services, those fees will be charged as well.  

Obtaining a Marriage Certificate

You can obtain a Marriage Certificate in person, by mail or online.

In Person

Fill out an application and schedule an appointment if you would like to obtain a certificate in person.

Vital Record Application (Certified Copy)

ONLINE - WITH A CREDIT CARD - additional fees apply

NEW AND IMPROVED!!!Our vendor now is able to verify identification online so you don't have to appear before a Notary Public.  

Please visit and follow the steps.

By Mail

To obtain a certificate by mail, you will need to fill out the below form and pay a $17.00 fee with a money order, cashier's check, or personal check. If you pay by personal check, there will be a 15 working day hold before you record is mailed.

Certified Copy: To receive a certified copy, fill out both pages of the application. This includes the sworn statement which will have to be notarized. If the sworn statement is not signed and notarized, we will collect the fee and send an informational copy.

Informational Copy: To receive an informational copy, you only need to fill out the first page of the application. You do not need to sign the sworn statement or get it notarized.

Your application must be mailed to the El Dorado County Recorder-Clerk office with a $17.00 fee.