Records Reception

The Records Unit maintains all reports initiated by the Sheriff's Office, maintains records of bookings made throughout the County and enters and maintains all warrants and restraining orders issued by the El Dorado County Courts. They also provide 24 hour criminal record research assistance to law enforcement. Records is responsible for receiving, storing and disseminating reports and information to authorized persons in compliance with local, state and federal laws


Placerville Office Records Unit

200 Industrial Drive
Placerville, CA 95667
(530) 621-5703
Open Monday through Friday 8:00AM - 5:00PM
Closed to the public on county holidays

South Lake Tahoe Office Records Unit

1360 Johnson Blvd
South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 573-3000
Open Monday through Friday 8:00AM - 4:00PM
Closed to the public on county holidays


  • Please review the information provided to you below as it may answer any questions you might have
  • Most of the services we provide require an appointment
  • If you are late for your appointment you may be requested reschedule
  • Please complete the applicable form required prior to your appointment date/time

Services We Provide

Copies of Reports

The following log is provided to you for review as it is a matter of public record. These reports are generated daily and include information on selected incidents and arrests. The information is taken from initial Sheriff's Office call for service reports. Not all incidents can be listed due to investigative restrictions.

Media Bulletin

Copies of crime reports are released in accordance with Section 7923.600 of the California Government Code.

Release of other types of reports is discretionary and the law prohibits release of some reports.

The public may request a copy of an incident report taken by the Sheriff's Office. Please fill out the Release of Information Application(PDF, 177KB) online and bring it in, fax or mail it to the Sheriff's Office for processing. We will respond within 10 working days.

Live Scan Applicant Fingerprinting

  • Live Scan fee is dependent on the type of service provided
  • We accept cash or check payments only
  • This service is provided by appointment only

Schedule an appointment online or see below for information on scheduling by telephone.

  • To schedule an appointment for the Placerville Office call (530) 621-5703
  • To schedule an appointment with our South Lake Tahoe Office call (530) 573-3000

For other Live Scan sites visit the State of California Department of Justice

Clearance Letters and Local CORI Requests

California Penal Code sections 13300 through 13326 authorize the release of local summary criminal history information to the subject of the criminal history.

A clearance letter is a criminal history check for any arrests and citations within El Dorado County Sheriff's Office jurisdiction. No other agencies'; arrest information will be provided. Clearance Letters are commonly obtained for Visa application requirements. Complete the clearance letter application and bring it to the Records window with a valid ID and payment. The request may take up to 10 days to process. There is a $30.00 fee for obtaining a clearance letter.

Subjects may request a copy of their local criminal history. Local CORI report will show El Dorado County Jail booking and release dates for 10 years, arresting agency and charges. Complete the local criminal history letter application and bring it to the Records window with valid ID and payment. If a criminal history record exists, it will be listed and it will be your responsibility to obtain a disposition. There is a $17.00 fee for a local criminal history check.

To obtain a local criminal history report for arrests falling outside of the El Dorado County Sheriff's jurisdiction, you must contact the law enforcement agency that was responsible for the arrest.

To obtain a copy of your state criminal history, you must submit fingerprints to the California Department of Justice. Contact the Records unit for an appointment.

Permits - New and Renewal

Fee depends on:

  • Itinerant Permits - New and Renewal
  • Massage Permits - New and Renewal
  • Explosive Permits - New and Renewal
  • Chain Installers - New and Renewal
  • Fortune Teller Permits - New and Renewal
  • Card Room Permits - New and Renewal

Registration Appointments

  • By appointment only
  • 290 and Arson Registration

Schedule an appointment online or see below for information on scheduling by telephone.

  • To schedule an appointment for the Placerville Office call (530) 621-5703
  • To schedule an appointment with our South Lake Tahoe office call (530) 573-3000



Megan's Law - Sex Offender Information

The California Department of Justice has publicly released its searchable Megan's Law database. This site will provide you with access to information on more than 63,000 persons required to register in California as sex offenders. Specific home addresses are displayed on more than 33,500 offenders in the California communities; as to these persons, the site displays the last registered address reported by the offender. An additional 30,500 offenders are included on the site listed by ZIP Code, city, and county. Information on approximately 22,000 other offenders is not included on this site, but is known to law enforcement personnel.


We do not confirm warrants to the public over the phone. You may come to the Sheriff's Office, jail or the Records Unit and present a current photo ID and ask for a warrant check for yourself or you may contact your local court.

For statistical information, please visit the California State Attorney General's Office .