County of El Dorado

Agriculture, Weights & Measures

LeeAnne Mila
Agricultural Commissioner, Sealer of Weights & Measures

To:  All Pesticide Permit Holders: Restricted Material & Operator Identification Numbers
Permit Renewal 2024 is almost here!

We will no longer be using the online scheduler to book appointments. To renew your permit
or schedule a PAC exam you will need to call the office at 530-621-5520. Appointments will
be scheduled between December 1% and March 31%. We do not accept walk-in renewals.

Notice: All of your 2023 Pesticide Use Reports must be submitted to our department before your
appointment. You will not receive a 2024 Permit if our office has not received your use reports.
Pesticide Use Reports that are continually late may be subject to a fine. Additionally, please be
sure to mention any changes (contact information, license holders, pesticides used, or crop
type/size) when speaking to a Biologist so we may update your permit and reduce your wait time
when you come in for your appointment.

Additional Requirements for Restricted Material Permit Holders: Title 3 of the California
Code of Regulations (CCR), section 6426 requires a permit applicant (grower) and their pest
control adviser to consider feasible alternatives to the use of restricted materials before applying
for a restricted material permit with the county agricultural commissioner (CAC). Every year you
are now required to provide your CAC with written documentation that you have considered
non-restricted alternatives to each restricted material that you place on your permit. The California
Department of Pesticide Regulation (DPR) has created a sample alternatives worksheet to
demonstrate this requirement, as well as an informational handout for the applicants. Click on this
link for detailed instructions.https://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/enforce/compend/vol_3/append_b.pdf

Private Applicator Certificate: If you are producing an agricultural commodity and wish to train
employees, use California Restricted Materials, or use fumigants for the control of ground
burrowing rodents or other pests, we have a process to get you certified. To become a private
applicator, you must demonstrate competency by passing the written examination with a minimum
score of 70%. Private applicators that pass the examination receive a DPR PAC card issued by
CAC staff and valid for up to 3 years. In order to help you prepare for the exam, “Pesticide Safety
— A Reference Manual for Private Applicators,” can be purchased from the UCCE office and costs
$29.00 plus tax. An electronic copy is now available through Google Play for $10.00 (Google Play
account required). Click on this link for more information regarding the PAC exam.
https://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/enforce/compend/vol_3/chap4.pdf

If you currently hold a valid PAC card you should have received a separate letter from us detailing
changes for maintaining this certificate. Please contact us for clarification on changes to this
process.

Hazardous Materials Inventory Reporting: If you store or handle 55 gallons or more of gas,
diesel or oil, 200 cubic feet or more of compressed gas, 500 pounds or more of hazardous solids,
generate 27 gallons or more of used oil per month, or store large quantities of pesticides over 14
days, you are required to file a Hazardous Materials Business Plan. The annual filing fee is
currently $94.00 plus our $75.00 inspection fee and will be billed out at the beginning of 2024. If
these conditions apply to your property, you must complete an online hazardous materials
inventory and business plan at http://cers.calepa.ca.gov/
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