Recording a document

Schedule an appointment in our: 

How do I go about recording a document?

The Recorder-Clerk does not provide blank documents for recording, please visit for recording forms or contact a local attorney.  Although an attorney is not required to prepare your document, we strongly recommend you seek legal advice before recording any document affecting title to your property.  

Documents are recorded daily from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. You may bring your document into our Placerville office and it will be recorded the same day if recording requirements are met and applicable fees paid. Documents are either recorded or rejected within 2 business days.  Upon recording, the original document will be mail back to you at a later date, usually 2-3 weeks.

We are happy to review your document for recordability and calculate recording fees prior to mailing your document. Please email documents to, we will respond to your email within 2 business days.

See below for our recording forms:

Please make checks payable to El Dorado Recorder-Clerk and mail your document(s) to:

El Dorado County Recorder-Clerk

360 Fair Lane

Placerville, CA  95667

Notice Regarding Legal Advice

California Government Code §24004 and California Business and Professions Code §6125 expressly prohibit the County Recorder-Clerk and deputies from the practice of law.

The California Supreme Court has defined “the practice of law” to include legal advice and the preparation of legal instruments. (Baron v. Los Angeles (1970) 2 Cal.3d 535, 542-543)

You are more than welcome to email us a copy of your document to review before you come into the office to make sure it meets recording requirements and calculate the fees.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate calling 530-621-5490 or emailing